Aug 282012
 

The Last Refuge:
A Dewey Andreas Novel

3rd in Series
St. Martin’s Press (July 3, 2012)
Political Thriller
Hardcover: 416 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1250007155

The Last Refuge (Dewey Andreas, #3)

Kohl Meir has come to New York to recruit Dewey Andreas to help him complete a very secret mission.  Meir had been tipped off that Iran had finally succeeded in building their first nuclear weapon, one they were planning to use to attack Israel. His source has seen the bomb.

Before they can meet Meir is kidnapped off the streets of Brooklyn by the Iranian Secret Service. They transport him back to Iran where he is imprisoned and tortured and now must stand trial. The trial is just for show. When found guilty he will be sentenced to death by firing squad.

Dewey Andreas, a former Army Ranger and Delta, owes his life to Meir and his team of Israeli commandos. He is honor bound to save the man that saved his life. Even if the prison where he is being held is a fortress that makes a rescue virtually impossible. He is also on a quest to get rid of the nuclear threat posed by Iran. With a little help from his friends he sets off on his most dangerous mission yet.

Dollycas’s Thoughts 

I must first say this is my first Ben Coes novel and while part of a series it reads satisfactorily as a stand alone, but there are several references to events in previous books.

This book is quite the tale of covert operations and the author has taken a little creative liberty is some protocol issues and definitely shows his feelings about the people of Iran. Formerly a campaign manager for Mitt Romney back in 2002, I find the plot timely and its release a bit politically generated as Mitt Romney wants to wage war against Iran as soon as he is elected, which I pray never happens.

With those issues aside the book is a thrilling page turner with many twists and turns. There are several characters to keep track of at first but soon the story starts to flow. Dewey is quite a hero and you really to want him to succeed in his mission. The fast pace does keep you on the edge of your seat. I was surprised on how quickly I read this book.

Fans of Brad Thor or Vince Flynn, two of my husband’s favorites, will love this book. I may go back and read the first two as I wait for the next installment.

Dollycas

Your Escape With A Good Book Travel Agent

 

About This Author

Ben Coes began his career in the public sector, working at the White House under President Ronald Reagan and President George H.W. Bush, serving as a White House-appointed speechwriter to the U.S. Secretary of Energy at the height of the Gulf War. Coes subsequently wrote speeches for Texas oilman billionaire T. Boone Pickens. Coes served as campaign manager for Mitt Romney’s successful run for Governor of Massachusetts and was subsequently invited to be a Visiting Fellow at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. A graduate of Columbia College, where he won the prestigious Bennett Cerf Memorial Prize for Fiction during his senior year, Ben lives in the Boston area with his wife and four children.

Check out his website http://www.bencoes.com/

  One Response to “Review: The Last Refuge by Ben Coes”

  1. My better half read this book and liked it, but when told of the authors’ background was not too happy.
    War is not something we here in this house want either. It’s best kept between the covers of books! Dee

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

The Barkery & Biscuits Mystery Book Series by Linda O. JohnstonBUY TODAY
%d bloggers like this: