Sep 212017
 


It has been a long time since I have scheduled a book to read
and then forgot to download it from NetGalley.

That is what happened with this book forcing me to change this post
from a review to a spotlight.

I sincerely apologize to Vicki Delany.
It especially hurts because the first book in this series already
has a place on my Best Reads List of 2017!

I do plan to get a copy and read and review it soon.


Body on Baker Street: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Crooked Lane Books (September 12, 2017)
Hardcover: 304 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1683312994
E-Book ASIN: B06XW3K7F5

Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table―dead.

Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

Praise for Body on Baker Street: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery
by Vicki Delany

I had no idea who the villain was until he/she was revealed. As Gemma explained her logic behind her deduction, I could see the way the clues lined up, but the villain definitely wasn’t on my radar before that.
~Valerie’s Musings

What’s not to love about this series – a Sherlock Holmes themed bookstore, a tea shop, and murder!
~The Book’s the Thing

Body On Baker Street provides an entertaining read.
~My Reading Journeys

In addition to a solid mystery, Delany provides delightful references to Sherlock Holmes throughout—from the store’s street address and merchandise; to a cat named Moriarty and a dog named Violet; to the mention of other books with Sherlock themes.
~Book Club Librarian

Subtle wit, great characters, and nods galore to everyone’s favorite Baker Street detective – these are the qualities that make Body on Baker Street a must read.
~Reading Is My SuperPower

I could not put this book down. One of her best yet in my opinion.
~Babs Book Bistro

This has been a great read, everyone had motives and with some funny characters this book will make you remember the great Arthur Conan Doyle books!
~Varietats

I love this series! I love Gemma and her quirky little bookshop selling Sherlock Holmes books, merchandise, anything connected with Arthur Conan Doyle, along with lots of other mystery books set in Sherlock’s era.
~CAROLE’S BOOK CORNER

The ending is dramatic and tense and even if you’ve figured some of it out, will still surprise you.
~Laura’s Interests

Vicki Delany is one of Canada’s most prolific and varied crime writers and a national bestseller in the U.S. She has written more than twenty-five books:  clever cozies to Gothic thrillers to gritty police procedurals, to historical fiction and novellas for adult literacy. Under the name of Eva Gates, she writes the Lighthouse Library cozy series for Penguin Random House. Her latest book is Body on Baker Street, the second in the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop series from Crooked Lane.

Vicki is the past president of the Crime Writers of Canada.  Her work has been nominated for the Derringer, the Bony Blithe, the Ontario Library Association Golden Oak, and the Arthur Ellis Awards.

www.vickidelany.com  Facebook:  Vicki Delany & Eva Gates  and twitter: @vickidelany and @evagatesauthor

Purchase Links



Written as Eva Gates

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

September 11 – Melissa’s Eclectic Bookshelf – CHARACTER GUEST POST
September 11 – A Blue Million Books – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
September 12 – Valerie’s Musings – REVIEW, GUEST POST
September 12 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT
September 13 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST
September 13 – A Holland Reads – SPOTLIGHT
September 14 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW
September 14 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW
September 15 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW
September 15 – Babs Book Bistro – REVIEW
September 16 – Varietats2010 – REVIEW
September 16 – Carole’s Book Corner – REVIEW
September 17 – Bookworm Cafe – GUEST POST
September 17 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 18 – CelticLady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT
September 18 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST
September 19 – Queen of All She Reads – REVIEW
September 19 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW, GUEST POST
September 20 – Book Babble – REVIEW
September 20 – Brooke Blogs – GUEST POST
September 21 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – REVIEW
September 21 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT 
September 22 – Teresa Trent Author Blog – INTERVIEW
September 22 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW
September 22 – That’s What She’s Reading – REVIEW
September 23 – Socrates’ Book Reviews – REVIEW
September 23 – Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers – CHARACTER INTERVIEW
September 24 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, CHARACTER GUEST POST
September 24 – A Cozy Experience – REVIEW

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

Dollycas

Your Escape With A Good Book Travel Agent

  6 Responses to “#Spotlight / #Giveaway – Body on Baker Street: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery by Vicki Delany – Great Escapes Book Tour – @crookedlanebks”

  1. I wish there were more brick and mortar bookstores around.

  2. Your accolades for the author make me want to read this book!

  3. No worries Lori, we know you’ll review it eventually, you always do a great job showcasing as well! Thanks to Vicky and you for the giveaway!

  4. I enjoy this series and look forward to more

  5. Can’t wait. Thanks for sharing

  6. I’ve heard many good things about the first book in this series. I need to read it soon!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Death Overdue: A Haunted Library Mystery by Allison Brook Get Your Copy Today!
%d bloggers like this: