Playing With Bonbon Fire: A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery by Dorothy St. James

 

Playing With Bonbon Fire: A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery
by Dorothy St. James

A good plot, with just enough twists and turns to keep me guessing, PLAYING WITH BONBON FIRE, was a quick, enjoyable read.
~Lisa Ks Book Reviews

Swirls of complications at every step as Penn tries to build a life and business for herself and understand her beginnings.
~Laura’s Interests

I was loving the emotional depths that this book took and the mystery itself was more involved than most as well. I think that all chocolate lovers should read this book/series and the cozy mystery fans in general.
~Books a Plenty Book Reviews

This book has really made an impression on me. It’s getting harder and harder to find books as well done as this one.
~Writing Pearls

This story had plenty of unique characters that readers will enjoy. It was as though you were truly visiting a festival, allowing yourself to people watch.
~Bibliophile Reviews

A story to be savored and enjoyed like a fine piece of chocolate. Playing with Bonbon Fire is sure to leave you craving more from this hit series by Dorothy St. James.
~A Cozy Experience

Even when all the chocolate has been eaten (oh, woe is me!), this delicious story will tickle and tempt your tastebuds! There is enough sugar to make this a sweet story, but not so much that it becomes cloying. Bonbon Fire is just right.
~Back Porchervations

Dorothy St. James is an amazingly talented author who paints a picture of a town and characters so well that you get lost in the story, only fully emerging upon turning the last page.
~The Montana Bookaholic

The town is filled with fun and quirky characters that care of each other and help solve the mystery in their own unique way.
~My Reading Journeys

I loved the story and I didn’t want to see it end. . . My advice is to get a copy and get comfy. The story is a page-turner and one you will not forget.
~Texas Book-aholic

I thought Playing with Bonbon Fire was a fun, charming mystery and I couldn’t get enough of this beachside community.
~Moonlight Rendezvous

I enjoyed everything about this story. Dorothy St. James has packed these pages full of mystery, drama, action, and chocolate.
~Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

I love that the current mystery brings about clues to an older mystery. . . The cast of characters are fun and I really love Charity.
~A Chick Who Reads

The plotline was well-thought-out, full of red herrings, and exciting.
~Valerie’s Musings

This one was as well written as the first in this series. The characters just keep growing and developing and I like how the author portrays this growth.
~Melina’s Book Blog

The storyline or the chocolate descriptions either one would have made this an enjoyable read for me – it was a real treat to find them all rolled up together in this cozy mystery.
~The Book’s the Thing

About the Book


Playing With Bonbon Fire: A Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Crooked Lane Books (March 13, 2018)
Hardcover: 352 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1683314684
Digital ASIN: B074MBXLWX

Chocoholic Charity Penn must smoke out the killer to stop her newly inherited beachside chocolate shop from going up in flames in Dorothy St. James’ decadent follow-up to Asking for Truffle.

Chocolate shop owner Charity Penn is finally settling into life in the quirky South Carolina seaside town of Camellia Beach cooking up chocolate treats. She’s even helped organize the town’s lively beach music festival which has brought rollicking crowds eager to dance the Carolina shag. That is, until one of the band’s lead singers is found dead beside a beach bonfire.

While also trying to balance the amorous attention of music star Bixby Lewis, in town for the festival, and her quest to perfect a new hot flavored bonbon, Charity dives into the investigation. Though it’s more spice than sugar when she discovers a threatening note, comes across decades of age-old secrets, and Bixby comes into the line of fire when a gas grill explodes on the deck of a beachfront house.

Now Charity must turn up the heat and catch the killer before her chance melts away in Playing With Bonbon Fire, the delightful second Southern Chocolate Shop mystery served up just right for fans of JoAnna Carl and Joanne Fluke.

About the Author

Mystery author Dorothy St. James was born in New York but raised in South Carolina. She makes her home on an artsy island community in South Carolina with her husband, a neurotic dog, and fluffy cat. Though writing has always been a passion for her, she pursued an undergraduate degree in Wildlife Biology and a graduate degree in Public Administration and Urban Planning. She put her educational experience to use, having worked in all branches and all levels of government including local, regional, state, and federal. She even spent time during college working for a non-profit environmental watchdog organization.

Switching from government service and community planning to fiction writing wasn’t as big of a change as some might think. Her government work was all about the stories of the people and the places where they live. As an urban planner, Dorothy loved telling the stories of the people she met. And from that, her desire to tell the tales that were so alive in her heart grew until she could not ignore it any longer. In 2001, she took a leap of faith and pursued her dream of writing fiction full-time.

Known for the White House Gardener Mystery series, Dorothy is going back to her roots and setting a mystery series in a Southern beach town much like the one she’s called home for the past 20 years. The Southern Chocolate Shop Mysteries combine her love of fine chocolates, quirky Southern charm, with a dash of danger.

* Dorothy St. James is the alter-ego of the award-winning multi-published author, Dorothy McFalls. She enjoys writing in several different genres. Her works have been nominated for many awards including Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, Reviewers International Organization Award, National Reader’s Choice Award, CataRomance Reviewers’ Choice Award, and The Romance Reviews Today Perfect 10! Award. Reviewers have called her work: “amazing”, “perfect”, “filled with emotion”, and “lined with danger.”

Author Links

Website: www.dorothystjames.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/dorothystjames

Twitter: www.twitter.com/dorothymcfalls

Purchase Links

Indie Bound

Amazon

Kobo

Google Play

Barnes & Noble

a Rafflecopter giveaway

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

March 11 – Babs Book Bistro – GUEST POST

March 11 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW

March 11 – La libreria di Beppe – SPOTLIGHT

March 12 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

March 12 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – REVIEW, INTERVIEW

March 13 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

March 13 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW

March 13 – Teresa Trent Author Blog – SPOTLIGHT

March 14 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW

March 14 – Writing Pearls – REVIEW

March 14 – Sapphyria’s Books – SPOTLIGHT

March 15 – Queen of All She Reads – SPOTLIGHT

March 15 – A Cozy Experience – REVIEW

March 16 – StoreyBook Reviews – CHARACTER GUEST POST

March 16 – Back Porchervations – REVIEW

March 17 – The Montana Bookaholic – REVIEW

March 17 – The Self-Rescue Princess – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

March 18 – A Holland Reads – CHARACTER GUEST POST

March 18 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW

March 18 – T’s Stuff – SPOTLIGHT

March 19 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT

March 19 – Jane Reads – CHARACTER GUEST POST

March 20 – Mysteries with Character – GUEST POST

March 20 – Texas Book-aholic – REVIEW

March 21 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

March 21 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW

March 22 – Valerie’s Musings – REVIEW, INTERVIEW

March 22 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

March 23 – Melina’s Book Blog – REVIEW

March 23 – Brooke Blogs – GUEST POST

March 24 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

March 24 – A Blue Million Books – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

March 24 – Ms. Cat’s Honest World – SPOTLIGHT

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

Additional Banners

Leave a Reply - I love comments!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Confound It (A Dreamwalker Mystery) by Maggie Toussaint Order Your Copy Today!
%d bloggers like this: