Death on a Deadline (A Homefront News Mystery) by Joyce St. Anthony


Death on a Deadline (A Homefront News Mystery)
by Joyce St. Anthony

If you’re a fan of historical cozy mystery books, you will really enjoy this captivating new title in the Homefront News Mystery series.
~Christy’s Cozy Corners

Death on a Deadline is historical fiction with depth, mystery, and a little romance that left me on the edge of my seat more than once. But I still want more! I look forward to reading more books in this series.
~Novels Alive

Full of a wide range of characters set in historical Pennsylvania the story will capture the readers attention until the surprise reveal making for a great read.
~Books a Plenty Book Reviews

From the chapter-opening news headlines to the everyday details that make the time period – and the characters – come alive…Can’t wait to tag along with the intrepid Irene on more of her investigative adventures!
~Reading is my Superpower

Death on Deadline is a fantastic addition to this series. It kept me fully entertained from the beginning to the end. While this book can be read as a stand-alone, I do recommend reading Front Page Murder first to get to know these characters from the start.
~Escape with Dollycas into a Good Book

I recommended Death on a Deadline and this series to a friend just before I started this review, and I will continue recommending this series — especially to anyone who enjoys historical mysteries and a 1940s homefront setting.
~View from the Birdhouse

Joyce St. Anthony has created a setting and characters that successful cozy series are noted for, and one that readers will enjoy returning to again and again.
~Book Club Librarian

For those who enjoy historical cozy mysteries, this should be a “must-read.” With engaging characters, the historical backdrop, and the home-town feel, this will appeal to cozy mystery fans.
~Christa Reads and Writes

About Death on a Deadline

 

Death on a Deadline (A Homefront News Mystery)
Historical Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Setting – Pennsylvania
Crooked Lane Books (November 8, 2022)
Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 288 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1639101152
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1639101153
Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09S3GBPM4

Editor-in-chief Irene Ingram pencils in her newest mystery in Joyce St. Anthony’s second captivating Homefront News mystery, perfect for fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.

 

As World War II rages in Europe and the Pacific, the small town of Progress is doing its part for the soldiers in the field with a war bond drive at the annual county fair. Town gossip Ava Dempsey rumors that Clark Gable will be among the participating stars. Instead of Gable, the headliner is Freddie Harrison, a B-movie star. When Freddie turns up dead in the dunk tank, Irene Ingram, editor-in-chief of The Progress Herald, starts chasing the real headline.

 

There are plenty of suspects and little evidence. Ava’s sister Angel, who was married to the dead actor, is the most obvious. The couple had argued about his affair with the young starlet Belinda Fox, and Angel was the last person to see Freddie alive.

 

Irene discovers there’s more than one person who might have wanted Freddie dead. As Irene draws on her well-honed reporter’s instincts to find the killer—nothing is what it seems in Progress, and now her own deadline could be right around the corner.

About Joyce St. Anthony

Joyce St. Anthony was a police secretary for ten years and more than once envisioned the demise of certain co-workers, but settled on writing as a way to keep herself out of jail. In addition to the Homefront News Mysteries, she is the author of the Brewing Trouble Mysteries and the upcoming Cider House Mysteries written under her own name, Joyce Tremel. She lives in the beautiful Laurel Highlands of Pennsylvania with her husband.

Author Links – http://www.joycetremel.com     https://www.facebook.com/JoyceTremel      https://twitter.com/JoyceTremel

Purchase Links – AmazonB&NKoboPenguin Random House – 

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

November 7 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

November 8 – StoreyBook Reviews – AUTHOR GUEST POST

November 8 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – REVIEW

November 9 – I’m Into Books – SPOTLIGHT

November 10 – Cassidy’s Bookshelves – CHARACTER GUEST POST

November 10 – Novels Alive – REVIEW – SPOTLIGHT

November 11 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

November 11 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

November 12 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

November 12 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

November 13 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

November 14 – Guatemala Paula Loves to Read – CHARACTER GUEST POST

November 14 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT  

November 14 – Reading Is My SuperPower – REVIEW

November 15 – Ascroft, eh? – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

November 15 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

November 16 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

November 17 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

November 18 – View from the Birdhouse – REVIEW

November 18 – Book Club Librarian – REVIEW

November 19 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

November 19 – Christa Reads and Writes – REVIEW

November 20 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

November 20 – Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers – AUTHOR GUEST POST

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!

Additional Banners