Sep 062012
 

This is my second virtual book tour this year for author Mark Gilleo. His Love Thy Neighbor tour stopped here on April 19. He is definitely an author to keep your eye on as the novel he is touring today is another great story.

Mark Gilleo holds a graduate degree in international business from the University of South Carolina and an undergraduate degree in business from George Mason University. He enjoys traveling, hiking and biking. He speaks Japanese. A fourth-generation Washingtonian, he currently resides in the D.C. area.

Now let me tell you about this book!!!

Sweat
Published by The Story Plant (August 28, 2012)
International Political Thriller
Trade Paperback: 366 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1611880519

Sweat

After taking care of his mother through her cancer battle which she lost Jake Patrick is trying to get his life back on track. He decides to take on a summer internship at his estranged father’s company. It will give a chance to earn some cash before he heads back to college and he may get to know the man who gave him life.

What he never imagined was finding himself in the center of an international scandal involving a U.S. senator, conspiracy, backroom politics, and murder. Or that his own life would hang in the balance. From D.C. to Saipan Jake is just trying to do what’s right and doing his best not to get himself and others killed in the process.

Dollycas’s Thoughts

Mark Gilleo writes about what he knows and makes it entertaining for all of us. You can tell from reading this story he has and international business mind and the author does have a graduate degree in this course of study.

This is a complex story that unfolds in a way that will keep you on the edge of your seat. The transitions between Washington D.C. and Saipan are smooth. The characters are rich and Jake Patrick is a character you will love and root for throughout the whole book.

Twists, spins, turns, intrigue, conspiracy, corruption, politics, kidnapping, murder, even a bit of humor and romance, this story has it all!!!

The story also opened up my eyes more clearly to the past economic driving force of Saipan, the largest island in the Commonwealth of the  Northern Mariana Islands, an unincorporated territory of the United Stares. According to Wikipedia on November 28, 2009, the federal government took control of immigration to the Northern Mariana Islands closing garment factories manufacturing  for  Levi StraussPhillips-Van HeusenAbercrombie & FitchL’Oreal subsidiary Ralph Lauren (Polo), Lord & Taylor, Tommy Hilfiger, and Walmart  that were driven largely by foreign contract workers (mainly from China) . This story shines a light on these issues in a fictional way we can all understand. Sweatshops!

Mark Gilleo is an author to watch and quickly becoming a favorite of mine!

Dollycas

Your Escape With A Good Book Travel Agent

Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book
is one of just 3 blogs hosting a giveaway for this tour!
U.S. RESIDENTS ONLY (Tour Rules)

The author is offering 1 copy of Love Thy Neighbor


You can read my review here.

This is Mark Gilleo’s first book!

You do not have to be a follower to enter but I hope you will find
something you like here and become a follower.

Followers Will Receive 2 Bonus Entries For Each Way They Follow.
Plus 2 Bonus Entries For Liking My Facebook Fan Page.

Plus 2 Bonus Entries If You “LIKE” Partners In Crime Facebook Fan Page

If you publicize the giveaway anywhere you will receive
5 Bonus Entries For Each Link.

Contest Will End September 20, 2012 at 11:59 PM CST
Winners Will Be Chosen By Random.org
Winners Will Be Notified By Email
and Will Be Posted Here In The Sidebar.

CLICK HERE FOR ENTRY FORM

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. Receiving a complimentary copy in no way reflected my review of this book. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Share
Aug 282012
 

The Last Refuge:
A Dewey Andreas Novel

3rd in Series
St. Martin’s Press (July 3, 2012)
Political Thriller
Hardcover: 416 pages
ISBN-13: 978-1250007155

The Last Refuge (Dewey Andreas, #3)

Kohl Meir has come to New York to recruit Dewey Andreas to help him complete a very secret mission.  Meir had been tipped off that Iran had finally succeeded in building their first nuclear weapon, one they were planning to use to attack Israel. His source has seen the bomb.

Before they can meet Meir is kidnapped off the streets of Brooklyn by the Iranian Secret Service. They transport him back to Iran where he is imprisoned and tortured and now must stand trial. The trial is just for show. When found guilty he will be sentenced to death by firing squad.

Dewey Andreas, a former Army Ranger and Delta, owes his life to Meir and his team of Israeli commandos. He is honor bound to save the man that saved his life. Even if the prison where he is being held is a fortress that makes a rescue virtually impossible. He is also on a quest to get rid of the nuclear threat posed by Iran. With a little help from his friends he sets off on his most dangerous mission yet.

Dollycas’s Thoughts 

I must first say this is my first Ben Coes novel and while part of a series it reads satisfactorily as a stand alone, but there are several references to events in previous books.

This book is quite the tale of covert operations and the author has taken a little creative liberty is some protocol issues and definitely shows his feelings about the people of Iran. Formerly a campaign manager for Mitt Romney back in 2002, I find the plot timely and its release a bit politically generated as Mitt Romney wants to wage war against Iran as soon as he is elected, which I pray never happens.

With those issues aside the book is a thrilling page turner with many twists and turns. There are several characters to keep track of at first but soon the story starts to flow. Dewey is quite a hero and you really to want him to succeed in his mission. The fast pace does keep you on the edge of your seat. I was surprised on how quickly I read this book.

Fans of Brad Thor or Vince Flynn, two of my husband’s favorites, will love this book. I may go back and read the first two as I wait for the next installment.

Dollycas

Your Escape With A Good Book Travel Agent

 

About This Author

Ben Coes began his career in the public sector, working at the White House under President Ronald Reagan and President George H.W. Bush, serving as a White House-appointed speechwriter to the U.S. Secretary of Energy at the height of the Gulf War. Coes subsequently wrote speeches for Texas oilman billionaire T. Boone Pickens. Coes served as campaign manager for Mitt Romney’s successful run for Governor of Massachusetts and was subsequently invited to be a Visiting Fellow at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. A graduate of Columbia College, where he won the prestigious Bennett Cerf Memorial Prize for Fiction during his senior year, Ben lives in the Boston area with his wife and four children.

Check out his website http://www.bencoes.com/

Share
A Legacy of Murder: A Kate Hamilton Mystery by Connie Berry Get Your Copy Today!
+ +
%d bloggers like this: